An Inconspicuous Welcome

You know, those days I was not really very passionate about astrophotography: something strange. There were two probable reasons.

  • I was going through the preps, and actually writing exams in school. At the end of the day, what I wanted to do is go to bed.
  • I saw there were lots of clouds in the sky then. Therefore, I had lost hope of an “offensive” after looking out.
I was really in for a pleasant surprise!  Image Credit: Sagnik Sarkar

I don’t really need to mention again, I did what I do always: look out of my window. Why I did so, that too on that particular night, I don’t know.

But whatever be the reason, I’m very much thankful that I did. 

Watching the initial RAW Image, I can more or less judge crudely whether the day is going to flop, or whether it’s gonna go down as one in my astrophotography history. In this case, it was the latter.

The results were even more stunning after I was done with post-processing. Upon further analysis, I am inclined to say that this is one of my best astrophotographs this winter session. 
For me, winter session means September to March.

As always, here’s the annotated version of the image; obtained from my staple Astrometry.net .  Image Credit: Sagnik Sarkar

Technical Details

I have always viewed astrophotography with what some people call “a technical twist”. In order to preserve tradition (and habit), here’s the technical details as always.

Date & Time
Date: February 18, 2014
Time: 22:53 IST (17:13 UTC)

EXIF Data
Camera: Sony NEX-3
F-Ratio: f/3.5
Focal Length: 19 mm
Exposure: 30"
ISO: 200

Post Processing
Calibration: DeepSkyStacker
Histogram Stretching: Adobe Photoshop
Finishing Touches: Adobe Lightroom

More Astrometry Details
http://nova.astrometry.net/user_images/220054#annotated
The Field of View of this image.

Anyone’s wondering why I posted so late? Well, I was too busy with preps for my examinations. And several other underlying reasons too!

Now, as I’m about to publish this blog, I’m sitting relaxed at home, having given the last exam for this scholastic session.

One thought on “An Inconspicuous Welcome

Your thoughts matter.

