Fascinating Cocktail

Image Credit: Sagnik Sarkar (CC-BY-SA)

Honestly, this is one of the clearest views of the sky I’ve ever got recently. I was seriously stunned after I finished the post-processing on this one. 

If you haven’t yet known, let me make it known to you that I literally “resurrect my images from the dead” with my post-processing.

Very few astrophotographers, which unfortunately includes me too, have the “fortune” of living in an area with horrific light pollution, moderate at best.

I pointed the camera almost straight up, and yet you can see the horrible pinkish glow of LP that has crept into the image, even after post-processing. I simply can’t help it, from the location from where I took this.

Yet, this is one of the most detailed and clear images in my collection of astrophotography done from home! Imagine my situation. 

Regardless of whether you are aware of it, let me inform you that I am horrific with identifying summer constellations. Yes, “horrific” is the word for it. So here’s the annotated version.

The annotated version of the same, generated at Astrometry.net. Click on the image to see more details of annotation.

Now’s the time for swallowing the “bitter pill”.

EXIF Data
Date: July 26, 2014
Time: 20:14 IST (14:44 UTC)

Camera Metadata
Model: Sony NEX-3
Focal Length: 18 mm
Focal Ratio: f/3.5
Exposure Time: 30 seconds
ISO: 200

Calibration Frames
Dark Frames: 3; at 30 seconds, 20 seconds and 10 seconds exposure
Bias Frames: 3; at 1/10 second, 1/20 second and 1/30 second exposure

Post Processing
Calibration: DeepSkyStacker
Histogram Stretching: Adobe Photoshop
Final Touches: Adobe Lightroom

Oh, and I’ve just realised, this was one of those photos which often pile up in a horrific backlog! Thanks to my fantastic shortage of time of coming online over the past few days.

Your thoughts matter.

